Academic Departments

The college has two credit academic divisions, Arts & Sciences and Career & Professional Studies. Direct supervision for the programs under each division is the responsibility of the academic dean. In addition, the Division of Continuing Education & Workforce Training (non-credit offerings) and the Eastern Shore Higher Education Center (upper division courses) provide a range of courses and programs to meet the educational needs of residents of the Eastern Shore. All academic programs fall under the supervision of Dr. Richard Midcap, Vice President for Academic Affairs.

--> -->

Academic Affairs Division:
Dr. Richard Midcap
Vice President for Academic Affairs

Phone: 410-827-5858  Email: rmidcap@chesapeake.edu

Academic Assessment
Staci Garrison, Director

Office - Technology Building, T-120
Phone: 410-827-3414 Email: sgarrison@chesapeake.edu

Division of Arts & Sciences
Dr. Eleanor Welsh, Dean
Division Office - Science Building, S-124
Phone: 410-827-5847  Email:ewelsh@chesapeake.edu

ARTS & LETTERS DEPARTMENT: Dr. Mark Steinberg, Chair
Areas of Study:
Art, Developmental English, Credit English, English as a Second Language, Film, Foreign Languages, Humanities, Music, Philosophy, Theatre
Faculty:
English Jeremy Crowe C-202D x2384 jcrowe@chesapeake.edu
Linda Earls T-116 x2316 learls@chesapeake.edu
Teri Floyd-Brumm C-202C x2359 tfloyd-brumm@chesapeake.edu
Sherri Foster C-205A x2285 sfoster@chesapeake.edu
Gretchen Gaines T-114    
David Harper C-205E x2326 dharper@chesapeake.edu
Juliet Smith C-202A x2284 jsmith@chesapeake.edu
Marc Steinberg C-205B x2235 msteinberg@chesapeake.edu
Fine Arts / Humanities William Thomas C-209C x2206 wthomas@chesapeake.edu
Robert Thompson H-117 x2277 rthompson@chesapeake.edu
MATHEMATICS DEPARTMENT: Dr. Kamal Hennayake, Chair
Areas of Study:
Developmental Math, Credit Math
Faculty:
  Vann R. Crucillo CAMB x2278 vcrucillo@chesapeake.edu
  Gregory Dempsey H-123    
  Kamal Hennayake H-120 x2312 khennayake@chesapeake.edu
  Patricia Lambdin H-117 x2329 plambdin@chesapeake.edu
  Marc McDonald H-123 x2256 mmcdonald@chesapeake.edu
  Sarah Sewell H-122 x2296 ssewell@chesapeake.edu
  Courtney Sykes H-125 x2333 csykes@chesapeake.edu
  Spencer Wilder H-119 x2328 swilder@chesapeake.edu
SCIENCE DEPARTMENT: Dr. David Maase, Chair
Areas of Study:
Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Physics, Physical Anthropology, Physical Geography, Science
Faculty:
  Heather Cunningham S-122 x2262 hcunningham@chesapeake.edu
  Tammy Field CAMB x2609 tfield@chesapeake.edu
  Matthew Jatkoss S-116 x2609 tfield@chesapeake.edu
  David Maase S-126 x2307 dmaase@chesapeake.edu
  Elizabeth O'Connor S-119 x2310 eoconnor@chesapeake.edu
  Kimberly Smoloski S-120 x2305 ksmoloski@chesapeake.edu
SOCIAL SCIENCE/EDUCATION DEPARTMENT: Ms. Amy Childs, Chair
Areas of Study:
Communication, Cultural Anthropology, Cultural Geography, Early Childhood, History, Human Services, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Teacher Education
Faculty:
Communication: Amy Childs HEC-104E x2331 achilds@chesapeake.edu
Preston Coleman C-202E    
Amber McGinnis C-205A x2604 amcginnis@chesapeake.edu
Education Sarah Ross HEC-103D x2327 sross@chesapeake.edu
Deanna Stock HEC-103E x2313 dstock@chesapeake.edu
History / Social Science Nevin Crouse S-117 x2317 ncrouse@chesapeake.edu
Shannon Fleishman S-123 x2308 sfleishman@chesapeake.edu
John Haas C-205C x2330 jhaas@chesapeake.edu
Jennifer Hawley C-205B x2205 jhawley@chesapeake.edu
Rebecca Mullens H-118    
Ruth Plinke H-130 x2281 rplinke@chesapeake.edu
Christine Schuette H-128 x2335 cschuette@chesapeake.edu
Herbert Ziegler S-121 x2334 hziegler@chesapeake.edu

Division of Career & Professional Studies
Ms. Maureen Gilmartin, Dean

Division Office - Health Professions and Athletics Center, Room 203B
Phone: 410-827-5842  Email:mgilmartin@chesapeake.edu

BUSINESS & LAW DEPARTMENT: Mr. Larry Hearn, Chair
Areas of Study:
Accounting, Agribusiness, Agriculture/Environmental Studies, Business, Career Planning, Crime Scene Technician, Economics, Landscape Design/Management, Law Enforcement, Paralegal Studies
Faculty:
Accounting / Business: Gwen Buxbaum T-117 x2351 gbuxbaum@chesapeake.edu
Larry Hearn HPAC-203E x2349 lhearn@chesapeake.edu
Catherine Rust T-117 x2225 crust@chesapeake.edu
Career Planning / Cooperative Education Cindy Bennett C-205D x2315 cbennett@chesapeake.edu
Criminal Justice / Paralegal Studies Bridget Lowrie   x2348 blowrie@chesapeake.edu
COMPUTER INFORMATION/TECHNOLOGY DEPARTMENT: Ms. Diana Hill, Chair
Areas of Study:
Computer Information Security, Computer Information Systems, Drafting & Design, Electronics, Food Service, Geographic Information Systems, Hotel/Restaurant Management, Interactive Media & Web Design, Microcomputer Applications, PC & Network Management, Technology, Welding
Criminal Justice: Corrections, Law Enforcement, Crime Scene Technician
Faculty:
Computer Studies: Diana Hill MTC-110 x2383 dhill@chesapeake.edu
HEALTH & WELLNESS DEPARTMENT: Dr. Carol Wilson-Robbins, Chair
Areas of Study:
Allied Health, Cardiac Rescue (CRT), NRP, Emergency Medical Services (EMS), Fitness & Wellness, Health, Nutrition, Medical Terminology, Phlebotomy, Physical Therapist Assistant, Radiologic Sciences, Surgical Technology,
Faculty:
CRT, EMS, NRP Jon Longest HPAC-203C 410-822-5400 x2724 jlongest@chesapeake.edu
Health & Wellness: Carol Wilson-Robbins HPAC-203D x2363 cwrobbins@chesapeake.edu
Physical Therapist Assistant Dave Thomas AACC 410-777-7039 dthomas@aacc.edu
Radiologic Sciences Linda Blythe HPAC-203J x5927 lblythe@chesapeake.edu
Mary Beth Bailey HPAC-203H x2706 mbailey@chesapeake.edu
Surgical Technology Karen Jones HPAC-203F x2712 kjones@chesapeake.edu
NURSING DEPARTMENT: Dr. Judith Stetson, Chair
Areas of Study:
Nursing Education
Faculty:
  Sedonna Brown HPAC-220D x2709 sbrown@chesapeake.edu
  Katherine Baumgartner HPAC-220G x2701 kbaumgartner@chesapeake.edu
  Crystal Farina HPAC-220A x2716 cfarina@chesapeake.edu
  Holly Hayman HPAC-220H x2719 hhayman@chesapeake.edu
  Robin Seal-Whitlock HPAC-220E x2713 rsealwhitlock@chesapeake.edu
  Jodi Stein HPAC-220C x2702 jstein@chesapeake.edu
  Judy Stetson HPAC-203M x5935 jstetson@chesapeake.edu
  Heather Westerfield HPAC-220I x2703 hwesterfield@chesapeake.edu