Chesapeake College Athletic Hall of Fame
2005 Inductees

Mercedes Lesser
Women's Sports Coach, 1969-1998

Mercedes Lesser, inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2005, accepts her Hall of Fame plaque from Dr. Richard Midcap, Chesapeake College’s vice president for student success and enrollment services.

Mercedes Lesser, a professor emeritus in kinesiology, coached women's volleyball and co-ed tennis during her illustrious career at Chesapeake College. She coached the 1972 women's volleyball team to the program's only state championship.

Ms. Lesser retired from Chesapeake College in 1998, but continues to be remembered. The women's softball field has been named in her honor, and she was a unanimous choice of the selection committee for induction to the Chesapeake College Athletic Hall of Fame. Ms. Lesser continues to be active in the community, including volunteer work with the Talbot Hospice Foundation.

Deborah Harrison Urry
Student Athlete, 1974-1976

Class of 2005 Hall of Fame inductee Deborah Harrison Urry, center, looks over some Chesapeake College memorabilia with Urry’s daughter, Sara, and Dr. Maurice Hickey. Dr. Hickey, then Chesapeake College’s vice president for academic services and currently president of Clinton (NY) Community College, will be inducted as part of the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2007.

Deborah Harrison Urry was a two-sport standout for the Skipjacks, playing both volleyball and basketball. She was a two-time team Most Valuable Player in volleyball, and a second-team all-state selection in both volleyball and basketball. Ms. Urry, who was selected Chesapeake's Most Outstanding Women's Athlete in 1976, went on to play volleyball at Tarkio College in Missouri, where she was again selected team MVP as a senior in 1977.

Ms. Urry continued to play indoor and doubles beach volleyball until 1998. Ms. Urry worked 20 years with Talbot County Public Schools, including service as its coordinator of career and technology, foreign language, and service learning. She has returned to Chesapeake College as executive director of the Eastern Shore Higher Education Center.

A former 4-H All-Star, she has been a Talbot County 4-H leader for 30 years.