Athletics News


Chesapeake College seeks members of ’72 and ’73 volleyball teams
State championship teams being inducted into college’s Athletic Hall of Fame

WYE MILLS – Chesapeake College wants to hear from members of its 1972 and 1973 women’s volleyball teams, which are being inducted into the college’s Athletic Hall of Fame next month.

Those teams, coached by the late Mercedes Lesser, won consecutive state championships for the first two state titles in college history. The 1972 team went undefeated, including wins over a pair of four-year colleges.

"These two teams were very important to the early history of the college’s athletic program," said Dr. Richard Midcap, who chairs the Athletic Hall of Fame Selection Committee. "We have located a couple of members of those teams who will be present, but we’re hoping more will be identified so they can also take part in the induction ceremony."

Midcap said the passage of time has made it difficult to locate those teams’ players.

"It has been almost 40 years, and many of the team members likely have new married last names, making it more difficult to track them down," said Midcap. "We hope publicizing our search for team members may help."

Players from those teams should contact Barbara Smith (, or 410-827-5843) for more information.

Those teams, along with former baseball star Will Delawter and men’s soccer standout G.R. Cannon, comprise the eighth class of the Hall of Fame. They will be inducted on Wednesday, October 19th in a 6 p.m. induction dinner that is headline by featured speaker Brian Billick, former Super Bowl-winning head coach of the Baltimore Ravens.

Tickets are $75 each and may be reserved by contacting Barbara Smith at the email address and phone number listed above.

back to listing of Athletics News

If there is inaccurate information on this page,
please send correction or comments to: Becky Fauver