Focus on Sports
Mappas named state JuCo co-Coach of the Year;
Djoukeng nominated by Region XX for All-American
Anyanwu selected for all-Region XX men’s basketball third team

Posted on Friday, April 30, 2004

WYE MILLS, March 16 – John Mappas and Cyril Djoukeng, the driving forces behind Chesapeake College’s recent rise to national basketball prominence, ended their respective junior college careers by adding one more honor to their already impressive resumes.

Mappas, who recently resigned after a four-year run as Chesapeake’s head men’s basketball coach, was named co-Coach of the Year by the Maryland Junior College Coaches Association. He shared the honor with CCBC-Catonsville’s Randy Gregory.

Djoukeng, a second-team all-Region XX choice last year, was named to the all-Region XX Division II first team. The sophomore point guard was selected for the all-state first team for the second consecutive season earlier this month after averaging 15.9 points and 6.0 assists while shooting 86.3 percent from the foul line during the regular season.

As the second-leading vote-getter in Region XX balloting, Djoukeng was also selected as one of Region XX’s two nominees for all-American.

"That would actually blow my mind," said Djoukeng of the possibility of being named to the all-American team. "I mean that. Just being nominated is a real honor."

CCBC-Dundalk’s Dawud Drew, the nation’s leading Division II scorer, totaled the most votes in Region XX balloting and was also submitted for all-American honors. The all-American team will be named in the spring.

Chesapeake sophomore forward Chijioke Anyanwu, who finished among the top 10 in the state in both scoring (18.6 points per game) and rebounding (10.4 per contest), was named to the all-Region XX Division II third team. Anyanwu was selected for the all-state second team earlier this month.

Mappas, 73-43 in four years as head coach, was named co-Coach of the Year after guiding the Skipjacks to a 21-9 record this season. Chesapeake was 12-5 in Maryland JuCo play, finishing fifth in the 18-team conference despite having no players taller than 6-foot-3.

"I had good players," said Mappas about winning the award. "I want to thank all my players because they earned the award."

Chesapeake College Athletic Director Frank Szymanski said the recognition was well deserved.

"Map is widely recognized as one of the top coaches in the league," said Szymanski. "It’s also widely known all he does off the court to help his players. This is a well-earned award, and a great send-off for Map."

Mappas was on the Wye Mills campus for the final time Tuesday as he and new head coach Dale Becraft met with some of the freshmen likely to be returning next season. Guard Ellis Yeadon, who helped the Skipjacks to a 14-5 record after joining the team in January, was one of the freshmen who met with Becraft.

"I like him (Becraft). He seems excited about the job," said Yeadon, who indicated he is likely to be back next school year at Chesapeake.

"He seems real good and up-front," said Kalenga Nsekela, another freshman who met Chesapeake’s new coach Tuesday. "He seems to be a player’s coach – he’s going to let us play."

Becraft said the meeting "went well."

"We talked about style of play and what’s up on the recruiting front," said Becraft.

"The important thing now is for them to concentrate on their classes," said Becraft of his new players. "I told them, ’You’re either in the program, or you’re out of the program. You have to be committed.’ I need to know who wants to be part of the program so I can plan my recruiting accordingly."

Yeadon, Nsekela, Gordon Bunn, Keith Campbell, and 2003-2004 red-shirt Kennard Williams are potential returners. Yeadon was a full-time starter after joining the team in January while Bunn, Campbell and Nsekela flip-flopped between the starting lineup and bench.

All three Skipjack sophomores are expected to play at four-year institutions next year. Djoukeng and forward Jerrold Lee are on schedule to graduate from Chesapeake in May, while Anyanwu is on pace to transfer to a four-year college or university with junior status.


If there is inaccurate information on this page,
please send correction or comments to: Marcie Molloy