Focus on News
New Honor Society Members Inducted at Chesapeake

Posted on Wednesday, June 07, 2006

Judiann Bianco of Chestertown and Brandy Bonomo of St. Michaels take the Phi Theta Kappa oath during the spring induction ceremony at Chesapeake College. 

WYE MILLS – Thirty-one new members were recently inducted into the Alpha Sigma Pi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) national honor society at Chesapeake College.

Family members, friends and Chesapeake employees attended the candlelight ceremony where the students were welcomed into the international scholastic honor society.

Chesapeake President Stuart Bounds praised the chapter for its activism and long history of success. He also praised members for seeking knowledge.

"Grades recognize learning, but scholarship is a great deal more than grades," Dr. Bounds said. "It´s more about reaching an understanding of what you don´t know than what you do know. Knowledge is elusive. It´s important to recognize different perspectives."

To join PTK, students must have a 3.5 cumulative grade point average at least 12 hours of coursework completed, and a declared major.

Assistant Professor of Biology Greg Farley, who is also a PTK advisor, said the members do more than earn good grades.

"They are excellent students in that they do more than worry about the grades. They want to learn as much as they can," Farley said. "They ask questions and do extra research on a regular basis."

PTK includes community service in its mission, so the Chesapeake chapter conducts several community service projects each year. The organization this spring signed on as a partner with Better World Books. The PTK chapter collected used textbooks on campus and shipped them to the Better World Books´ their central warehouse. From that warehouse, textbooks are sold, and the proceeds are converted into funding for non-profit literacy ventures in the United States, Africa, and Asia. All textbooks collected at Chesapeake College and sold by Better World Books will benefit the National Center for Family Literacy, an organization working to provide hurricane victims on the Gulf Coast with books and literacy training, according to Farley.

During the induction ceremony, the chapter recognized the late Chesapeake professor George Wilson by making him an honorary member. After Wilson´s family accepted the posthumous award, Professor Jean-Louis Marchand paid tribute to his friend and colleague.

Marchand said that, unlike many people today, Wilson "lived completely in the moment". In an age when people multi-task throughout the day, Wilson would stop and listen to everyone he encountered.

"George was a man of principle and integrity, and we miss him very much," Marchand said. Members of Wilson´s family attended the ceremony to accept an honorary membership plaque.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society for two-year colleges, with more than 1,200 chapters at community, technical and junior colleges in all 50 states, Canada, Germany, and U.S. territories. To join PTK, students must have a 3.5 cumulative grade point average, at least 12 hours of coursework completed, and a declared major.

The new PTK members at Chesapeake College are:

Caroline County: Jeanette L. DeLude of Greensboro, Leah B. Lister of Denton, Candelaria McElhinny of Federalsburg, Rebecca A. Mielke of Denton, and Carol B. Seward of Denton.

Dorchester County: Logan K. Hallowell of Hurlock, Darah E. Jackson of East New Market, Kimberly M. Robinson of Vienna, and Cheryl A. White of Hurlock.

Kent County: Judiann Bianco of Chestertown, Susan O. Clayton of Chestertown, Trudy E. Kelley of Chestertown, Karen Van Pelt of Chestertown and Jennifer M. Wilson of Chestertown.

Queen Anne´s County: Pamela A. Callahan of Queenstown, Katie R. Coursey of Queenstown, Erin M. Dickey of Stevensville, Caitlin M. Donnelly of Centreville, Kaleb R. Jenkins of Chester, Rebecca I. Killian of Stevensville, Alicia Thibodeau of Stevensville and Dorothy M. Zeller of Queenstown.

Talbot County: Kurt M. Batarilan of Easton, Brandy Y. Bonomo of St. Michaels, Elizabeth I. Dawson of Trappe, Daniel Dawson, Jr. of Trappe, April L. Haddock of Easton, Tara M. Johnson of Easton, Stephen M. Myers of Easton, Laura S. Schulze of Easton and Susan M. White of Easton.


If there is inaccurate information on this page,
please send correction or comments to: Marcie Molloy