Focus on News
New Honor Society Members Inducted at Chesapeake

Posted on Wednesday, December 06, 2006

WYE MILLS – Thirty-five new members were recently inducted into the Alpha Sigma Pi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) national honor society at Chesapeake College.

Family members, friends and Chesapeake employees attended the candlelight ceremony where- the students were welcomed into the international scholastic honor society.

To join PTK, students must have a 3.5 cumulative grade point average at least 12 hours of coursework completed, and a declared major.

Assistant Professor of Biology Greg Farley, who is also a PTK advisor, said the members do more than earn good grades.

"They are excellent students in that they do more than worry about the grades. They want to learn as much as they can," Farley said. "They ask questions and do extra research on a regular basis."

PTK includes community service in its mission, so the Chesapeake chapter conducts several community service projects each year. This fall members collected non-perishable food for needy families in the area. In addition, they sponsored a lecture series on a variety of topics.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society for two-year colleges, with more than 1,200 chapters at community, technical and junior colleges in all 50 states, Canada, Germany, and U.S. territories. To join PTK, students must have a 3.5 cumulative grade point average, at least 12 hours of coursework completed, and a declared major.

The new PTK members at Chesapeake College are:

Caroline County: Lori-el Curtain of Preston, Kelli L. Greeno of Denton, Shawna M. Gunter of Greensboro, Shirley E. Lake of Federalsburg, Maurissa M. Marshall of Henderson, Ruben C. Medalla of Preston, Heather R. Sterling of Preston, and Stanley J. Wilcox of Marydel.

Dorchester County: Linda Barnes of Woolford, Amber M. Barnett of Cambridge, Monick N. Conway of Hurlock, Tynekia N. Green of Cambridge and Robin T. Wooten of Cambridge.

Kent County: Kristen L. Anderson of Rock Hall and Sue G. Byerly of Chestertown.

Queen Anne´s County: Ashley M. Bender of Sudlersville, Elizabeth V. Clemens of Stevensville, Sheryl L. Germann of Millington, Lynnette M. Lollar of Grasonville, Felicia Manowski of Grasonville, Kristen Meredith of Crumpton, Kurt A. Musser of Stevensville, Kathy S. Pearson of Centreville, and Brittany A White of Stevensville.

Talbot County: Igor Giusti of Cordova, Jennifer A. Hontz of Easton, Chanelle R. Lake of St. Michaels, Brandi N. Lomax of Wittman, Mary A. Luschinski of Easton, Mollie K. Mister of Easton, Jessica C. Mitchell of Easton, Kimberly S. Price of Easton, Dawn M. States of Easton, and Keri B. Tucker of Easton.


If there is inaccurate information on this page,
please send correction or comments to: Marcie Molloy