Focus on News
Chesapeake College students join elite honor society

Posted on Tuesday, October 28, 2008

WYE MILLS – Thirty-one Chesapeake College students joined an elite academic group Monday night, accepting membership into Chesapeake College´s chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society.

"You are now part of the top one percent of community college students worldwide," Don Cooke, Delaware/Maryland president of PTK´s Middle States Region, told the students being inducted into Chesapeake´s Alpha Sigma Pi Chapter.

Cooke exhorted the inductees not to consider membership "an honor . . . that you put up on a wall," but to commit the "passion and dedication" to become actively involved in all the good works that PTK encourages. He also reminded the inductees about one of the many advantages of PTK membership – eligibility for the approximately $36 million in transfer scholarships at 600 colleges and universities for PTK members.

Cooke also noted that Chesapeake College´s chapter, with Associate Professor Greg Farley as chapter advisor, is viewed as one of the leading chapters in Middle States in terms of involvement.

"Professor Farley is recognized as one of the finest advisors in Middle States and (Chesapeake Chapter President) Leslie Bandura is seen as a star on the rise in PTK," said Cooke.

Dr. Barbara Viniar, Chesapeake College´s president, also encouraged the inductees – all whom have at least a 3.5 quality-point average at Chesapeake – to put their education to use serving others in the tradition of PTK.

"Scholarship without purpose is empty," declared Dr. Viniar. "If you don´t apply learning to something of value, you haven´t really learned anything at all."

The chapter has already sponsored a panel discussion this fall on the PTK honors study topic, "The Paradox of Affluence," and is organizing a Thanksgiving food drive. Professor Farley implored the new members to provide some new thinking about other projects the chapter could conduct this academic year, and finished the program by congratulating the new members.

"You should be incredibly proud of yourselves," Professor Farley told the inductees. "And we are incredibly proud of you."

PTK, the international honor society of two-year colleges, was established in 1918. It is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than two million members and 1,200 chapters worldwide, including all 50 states.

The inductees (with home towns in parentheses) are: Cindy Ann Berkey (Denton); Gwendolyn F. Cain (Greensboro); Danial Martin Call (Ridgely); Kevin Edward Carroll (Queen Anne); Jennifer Laverne Espil (Goldsboro); Margaret Grier Evans (Centreville); Jenna Marie Ewing (Cordova); Jaime Lyn Ewing (Preston); Michael E. Finley (Fishing Creek); Carole Lynn Friend (Stevensville); Alice Louise Gilmer (Church Hill); Justin Robert Howard (Cambridge); Joshua Edward Jarrell (Preston); Heather Noel Lingard (Henderson); Jeffrey Michael McBridge (Woodbridge, VA.); Laura Lynn Murphy (Preston); Samantha Carol-Ann Neumann (Easton); Wykeshia N. Pierce (Hurlock); Rachel Seese Rosebrock (Denton); Karen Mariana Rowe (Federalsburg); Abigail Eileen Shaffer (Ridgely); Amy Ranae Shalaby (Federalsburg); Susan Hinckley Shoemaker (Hillsboro); Emily Jane Steedman (Cordova); Joshua Foster Stevens (Marydel); Patricia Susan Tucker (Greensboro); Charles Tyler (Cambridge); Lauren Elizabeth Webster (Trappe); Matthew Steven White (Federalsburg); Meghan J. Wingate (Cambridge); Emily L. Wood, (Queen Anne).


If there is inaccurate information on this page,
please send correction or comments to: Marcie Molloy