Focus on Students
Chesapeake College students join elite honor society

Students, recognized for academic excellence, inducted into PTK

Posted on Thursday, April 12, 2012

Students from the Mid-Shore were recently inducted into the PTK International Honor Society at Chesapeake College. 

WYE MILLS – Twenty-seven Chesapeake College students joined an elite academic group recently, accepting membership into Chesapeake College’s chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society.

On an evening celebrating academic success, Chesapeake College President Barbara Viniar delivered an address urging the inductees to value their academic achievements and talents.

"Academic success does not buy happiness, but it can buy stability," Dr. Viniar told the students. "Make sure that you have the ability to use your education and talents to get ahead. You need to do this for yourselves and the future of the country."

Gregory Farley, associate professor of biology and PTK advisor, said the inductees – all whom have at least a 3.5 quality-point average at Chesapeake – make him hopeful about the future.

"We have both the blessing and curse of living in uncertain times," Farley said. "These students help make the changes that we will need going forward. Looking at this group gives me hope."

PTK, the international honor society of two-year colleges, was established in 1918. It is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than two million members and 1,200 chapters worldwide, including all 50 states.

The inductees are: Jacquelyn D. Bateman of Centreville, Bryan S. Bayliss of Hurlock, Eric J. Bentley of Stevensville, Haley E. Childs of Oxford, Kylene D. Cinelli of Easton, Tyra E. Copper of Cambridge, Michaela M. Crawford of Chestertown, Lora L. Creason of Goldsboro, Raymond M. Davis of Ridgely, Jamie A. Ferrell of Millington, Jeffrey D. Gadow of Hurlock, Tamara R. Garcia of Preston, Shannon M. Garcia-Pierce of Sudlersville, Hannah A. Gowe of Preston, Christopher E. Hayton of Easton, Theresa A. Hooper of Greensboro, Michele L. Lantz of Marydel, Deborah C. MacArthur of Grasonville, Whitney P. Mangum of Queenstown, Brian Micheliche of Federalsburg, Renee L. Murphy of Cambridge, Katelynn M. Murphy of Stevensville, Morgan Olds of Stevensville, Akanni S. Salako of Mitchellville, Branigan D. Snyder of Sudlersville, Michael C. Tryon of Denton, and Kristine E. Tucker of Hurlock.


If there is inaccurate information on this page,
please send correction or comments to: Marcie Molloy